Cara Bristol’s "Reasonable Doubts"


Some women like to be spanked. Say what!?  I know, I know. It sounds crazy, right? Well, it’s true, and as proof I offer a little essay by the esteemed spanking romance author, Cara Bristol, explaining to her sisters just how to get their lazy oaf of a husband/significant other out of the Barcalounger and into action. 
And to top things off she’s written a pretty steamy book about the subject. 

But enough from me. I’ll turn it over to Cara to tell you all about it.
How to say “spank me”
By Cara Bristol
To admit to a partner you want to be spanked can be an uncomfortable discussion. Underscoring the discomfort is fear that he or she will be turned off or react with horror. I’m a big proponent of open communication, but if you want to test the waters before you make the big confession, here are some things you can try:
·        
          When you’re out shopping and you see spanking implements or “pervertibles,” point them out.
·         Buy underwear that say “spank me.”
·         Discuss spanking in general. Mention that you find the concept sexy and explain why.
·         Admit you read spanking romances and/or spanking blogs. Read a passage to him.
·         Suggest you share a “wild” fantasy.
·         Suggest a role play game, such as naughty school girl.
         After a little tiff and after making up, suggest you might be deserving of a little spanking. 
Liz Davenport, the heroine of Reasonable Doubts, finds herself this situation—she needs to tell her new man she wants to be spanked. It’s a position she never thought she’d be in. She had married an experienced disciplinarian, but after many years of marriage, she was widowed. Liz hesitates to tell her new man what she really wants for fear of how he’ll react.
An excerpt from Reasonable Doubts
“Before we begin—before you begin—let me apologize for what I said out there.”

Liz licked her lips. Her mouth had dried. “You mean about spanking me?”

He nodded. “I shouldn’t have said that. I’m sor—”

“Don’t apologize until you hear what I have to say.” She twisted her hands. What if he thought she was a kinky freak? What if he hustled her out of his condo and his life? Liz took a breath. “I did think you were older than you are, but that wasn’t the real issue.”

“What is?”

“Discipline.”

“I don’t understand.”

“In my marriage, there was never any question who was in charge. Otis always consulted with me, but I deferred to his judgment. He led; I supported.”

Grant arched his eyebrows. “That sounds very traditional.”

Liz nodded. “Yes. I assumed when I got involved again, the man would be…traditional…like Otis.” She wasn’t being clear enough. “I figured I would meet someone through the Rod and Cane Society.”

Grant frowned. “Rod and Cane. The mansion we were at?”

Liz nodded.

“Is that some sort of fraternal organization?”

She nodded. “Otis was president. Jared, whom you met outside, has filled in until an election can be held. I’m vying for a seat on the governance board. It’s a bold move for a conservative—some would say old-fashioned—organization to admit a woman.” Stop stalling. Say it.

“What does the organization do? What’s its purpose?” In a game of Twenty Questions, Grant probably would need no more than a couple to guess the object.

Liz rubbed her hands together. “Rod and Cane supports and promotes domestic discipline. The male members spank their wives.”

Grant blinked. “You were spanked by your husband?”

“Yes.” Relief that came from truth settled over her.

“Wow.” He exhaled and studied the floor. Then his head shot up, and he sought her gaze. “You want me to spank you.”

“Yes.”

Grant got to his feet and shoved his hands in his pockets. He paced. “Well, this wasn’t what I expected you to say.” He glanced at her then tossed his head back and laughed. As if she were a joke. She’d bared herself to him, and he laughed at her?

What a jerk. And to think she’d considered him a nice guy. Liz grabbed her purse and sprang to her feet. He’d driven her, but she’d crawl back to Rod and Cane if she had to!
Reasonable Doubts Blurb
Widow Liz Davenport assumes when she begins to date, her new man will be like her late husband–a member of the Rod and Cane Society and an experienced disciplinarian who can provide her with loving guidance she requires to feel grounded and secure. So why is she attracted to Grant Davis, an ex-Naval  JAG officer who works for her nemesis and has never spanked a woman in his life?
Events in his recent past have forced Grant to take stock of his life and try some new things. But spank a woman? He’s never considered that before, but with Liz’s coaching he’s willing to try.
But when the past collides with the present, will he be able to step up and become the disciplinarian Liz needs?
[Luckily we men are easily trainable, so I think Grant will be ok. But to find out, you’ll have to buy the book.]

Buy Links
Find Cara
Prizes, Prizes!
How would you like to become card-carrying member of the Rod and Cane Society? To receive a membership card, leave a comment for Cara about Reasonable Doubts or this blog AND your email address in the body of your comment. Cara will contact you to arrange to send you a membership card. This is nota drawing. Everyone who posts a comment with an email address can receive a card—as long as supplies last. In addition, by commenting on this blog and leaving an email address, you’ll be entered into a drawing for Rod and Cane coffee mug.
13 responses to “Cara Bristol’s "Reasonable Doubts"

  1. Thanks, Rollin, for the guest post!

    Like

  2. Great book. Often the first and most difficult step is sharing what you want and need with your partner. I have just purchased the book and am looking forward to reading it soon. Email: crshaw2011@gmail.com

    Like

  3. Great topic and looks like the book starts off wonderfully I can't wait to read it.

    Like

  4. Thank you Annabelle and Crystal!

    Like

  5. awesome!
    or if you have the partner who hates reading directions, and hates being told what to do (like mine 😉 ), try reverse psychology.

    “No, honey, please don't take that garbage out. And please whatever you do, don't spank me like a naughty school girl.”

    😉
    Great post.
    Loved the book!
    🙂

    Like

  6. I read it and loved it. Great post.

    Like

  7. Reverse psychology–that's a thought! Thanks, Katherine & Laurel.

    Like

  8. Thanks, Cara. I took 14 years to admit my deep dark desires to my husband and it worked out great. He calls it our “sexual revolution.” Its so worthwhile to just say what one likes.

    Like

  9. Glad it worked out for you, Angela!

    Like

  10. I try to buy it several times but it looks likes the government here block certain kind of book to be bought from here. They just stated ” this book is not available to be sell in your country” how frustrating!!! Anyone can help?com

    Like

  11. Inggrid, you should contact Cara directly. I'm sure she can help you. Her contact info is on her blog at http://www.carabristol.com/

    Like

  12. Thanks. I will contact her directly.

    Like

  13. I forgot to add my address for a membership card from Car a to the rod and cane society.

    laurellasky@yahoo.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

